Be informed of updates on

Pens-Opinion!

Follow Jim Kirkland,  Webmaster,

on Twitter

@PenrodsPokes


WALK OF FAITH STONES

at Christ Cathedral

Donated by Members and Friends of the

Crystal Cathedral

View Walk of Faith Stones



Contact: webmaster@pens-opinion.org

Total Hits since April 1, 2011:

Back to Top of Page

Online Now


Airing on the Hour of Power

 (Program 2396 airing Sunday, January 03, 2015

Watch Hour of Power from Shepherd’s Grove Now on emmtv.org

 Link to Hour of Power provided as a courtesy to Pens-Opinion.org

by http://www.emmtv.org

Crystal Cathedral Congregation

at Shepherd’s Grove

January 3, 2016

9:30 AM Service: 748

(  Taping Sunday )

Program 2499 - Airs 1/24/2016

Prior Week Church Attendance

    9:30 AM Service:   12/27  =  752  

    6:00 PM Service:   12/27  =    68



Contemporary Service

December 27, 2015

11:15 AM Service:   223

We’re hearing Contemporary Service

Counts published may not be accurate



Church Report Update

52nd Week Ending

Sunday, December 27, 2015

Church Offerings





















Hour of Power Revenue

As of June  2015

        




Collective Offering: $

9:30 AM Offering: $

11:15 AM Offering: $

Evening Offering: $

Credit Card: $

Mid-Week Mail: $

12/24 Christmas Eve: $

TOTAL OFFERING: $

Year To Date Offerings: $

Year To Date Goal $

Short of Goal by: $



34,809.14

?

?

?

?

?

23,647.60

58,456.74

 1,571,512.10

1,560,000.00

11,517.10



HOP Revenue: $

HOP Expenses: $

HOP Net Operations: $

4,761,698.00

4,693,493.00

58,205.00

NOTE: The figures below represent INCOME, Expense and Net Operations as presented at the Congregational Meeting July, 19, 2015.

Church Leadership no longer reports

Offering amounts per Service


10 Minute Bible

An exciting journey through the Scriptures

10 minutes at a time

With Pastor James Richards

www.10MinuteBible.org


“Facts you need to know

About RCA Church Membership”

Learn More


Last 100 copies of

“Dwelling in Schullerland”

by Larry W. Gates

Now a Collector’s Item

There will never be a reprint

$ 10.00 plus $ 2.95 S & H

Larry W. Gates

P. O. Box 272

Bargersville, Indiana 46106


Watch the First Hour of Power

Taped January 18, 1970

Aired on February 1, 1970 on KTLA LA


Pens Opinion website updated:

August 24, 2016 at 3:10 pm

Main Page Updated

Slider Panels

Famous Quotes

Hour of Power 2429

Mike Chamberlin Concert


Main Page

Brett Judson  – Crystal Cathedral

Graduate

Second Main Page

Memorial Day

Shepherd’s Grove/Christ Cathedral

Ecumenical Service

Links to other recently

Updated Pages

The King of Instruments

Largest Church Organ

in the World - 10 parts uploaded





Famous quotes from Dr. Robert H. Schuller

Founding pastor of the Crystal Cathedral



“Press on. Obstacles are seldom

the same size tomorrow

as they are today.”

 

Dateline: February 16, 2016 Thoughts on the Barn wood background: Completely unsuitable for church decor let alone a television production set unless it’s a set for “HeeHaw!”

The same leadership which had the unpopular “barn wood” backdrop installed during the misguided Mark Bass production days has repeatedly promised the Shepherd’s Grove congregation that the the tacky wood backdrop wood “look” would be removed. The first mention in the fall of 2014 has now stretched well over a year.

However, the buss is that the leadership is finally making good on their word and that the “barn wood” will finally soon be removed in favor of a more appropriate look for our church and the Hour of Power. This positive decision is all most likely being made possible the the recent million dollar donation  by Jim and Susan Dawson.

At last, a wise move which will dignify the look of our world class choir and dignify the appearance of our world class orchestra and most of all, dignify the décor of the pulpit so the Bobby Schuller won’d be lost in the dark wood background.

This is great news for our church and the Hour of Power making the production more suitable for television broadcasting.

Dateline: February 20, 2019 – Posted: 12:30 PM PST – We are hearing our pastors are shaking their heads in wonder as to why the second service isn’t growing. It’s been eleven years since Bobby Schuller started “The Gathering” with around 200 persons in attendance which eventually had to merge with Chad Blake’s “Tree of Life” to stay alive.

Mystified, the pastors are now trying to make the second service more like the first Hour of Power service format with the exception of having praise and worship music (not including Don Neuen and the Hour of Power Choir).

If the pastors want to fill up the second service, they simply need to duplicate the first service with Don Neuen and the world class Hour of Power Choir.


Dateline: February 28, 2016 – Posted: 11:49 AM PST – Published in the Sunday, February 28, 2016 Church Bulletin in the Transitions Section, “Ruby Madison, mother of [Pastor] Geoff Madison, grandmother of Hillary Blake and [mother-in-law of Pastor] Chad Blake passed away on February 22, 2016.

Our condolences to Pastor Geoff Madison, Hillary Blake and Pastor Chad Blake. Our prayers are with you.

Jennifer lost her 5 1/2 year battle with liver cancer on Thursday Feb. 25, 2016 at St Joseph's Hospital in Orange. She was 38yrs old. Jenny's first job was at the Crystal Cathedral where she literally grew-up. She continued to work for the church through it's many difficulties changing jobs as needed from the bookstore to pre-school administration, then pastor's assistant and on to administration as her disease progressed. She was baptized in the Cathedral during the last church service held there. Jenny was a registered lifetime member of the Girl Scouts, 11yrs as a child and the last 21yrs as a leader. Jenny loved her family, Ducks Hockey and country music. Her best friends -

were her sisters who tenderly, patiently spent many hours helping care for her and making her laugh. She is survived by her parents, Bob & Christine Behrens and her sisters, Becky and Molly. A memorial service will be held Sat. March 12, 11AM at Shepherd's Grove Church.

Published in Orange County Register on Mar. 9, 2016


Dateline: March 11, 2016 –  Jennifer Stebbens, former manager of the Crystal Cathedral Bookstore, lost her 5 ½ year battle with cancer. Obituary below.

Dateline: May 1, 2016 – Posted: 4:25 PM PDT – We are beginning to get more emails concerning the status of the backdrop now infamoustly dubbed “The Barnwood.” Periodically, we hear “The Barnwood” is coming down. Then a little bit later, we hear “The Barnwood” is staying up.  Interspersed with, “Is the Barnwood coming down or staying up,” are emails wanting to know, “I heard Hour of Power letters were being nailed to “The Barnwood,” and then “What happened to the letters on The Barnwood? There’re not there anymore!

Here is the answer. We, at Pens-Opinion don’t know.  We just tacitly watch as do you, dear reader, to see what happens. Stay tuned, but please don’t hold your breath.

Dateline: June 12, 2016 – Posted 12:30 PM PDT – Beginning in September 2016, Shepherd’s Grove is planning a second traditional service. The service will be at 8:00 am. The next traditional service will begin at 9:25 am and the contemporary service will remain at 11:15 am.

The question that remains is; Will the ushers be willing to come in that early on a Sunday Morning on a regular basis?

Dateline: June 19, 2016 – Posted: 1:30 PM PDT – The Main Page Banner will soon change to reflect the incorporation on Pen’s Opinion as a tax exempt 501c3 religious organization.

Pen’s Opinion.org has been operated for 5 years, beginning April 15, 2011 and all costs associated with operating the website. Over the period of five years operational costs have increased and technology has also been steadily advancing and upgrades to our server are necessary.

Therefore, we are in need of donor assistance from those who are willing to help support. Soon, we will have donor software in place. Donations will be tax deductible. Thank you all in advance for your support.


Dateline: June 25, 2016 –  Carol Barber, Principal of Trinity Christian Schools is retiring June 30.  John Charles and Chuck Trout are acting Principals during the search for a new Principal.

Updated Announcement from Dr. Lawrence Wilkes:

We have received permission to go ahead with a one year Master of Ministry Program, In Orange County.  We want to begin after Labor Day. Classes will be 10am to noon and 1:30 to 3:30 pm Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday weekly through Dec 14.

Now, I am looking for  students.

The school is Yuin University.  It will soon change its name under the new management.   I am persuading them to move the who school to Orange County.



 



From the webmaster:  Due to an unexpected turn of events, both my oldest daughter Claire and I were terminated from our full time employment. We both believe it is a “wrongful termination” and have contacted an attorney.  However, now, lack of funds is a big problem

If you are able to assist financially, please click here  Your help will be greatly appreciated.

EMMTV will no longer be streaming the Hour of Power telecasts after the end of this month.

As a courtesy to Pens Opinion, EMMTV has provided the Hour of Power program for weekly streaming without charge to us although EMMTV operates a subscription service charge to provide streaming media programs.

Pens Opinion will search for alternatives to continue providing the Hour of Power since many of the viewers that watch the program on this site are from locations throughout the United States and other parts of the world.





Dr. Lawrence Wilkes